This article is pointed at Lutherans of the Missouri stripe.  However, I am sure it will speak to a wider audience.

It is not the Church’s business to de-confirm anyone.  You do it yourself.  You do it when you despise the preaching of the Word of God and the Sacraments.  If you remember your days in the catechism you will remember well Luther’s meaning to the third commandment.  When I say despise this is what Luther means and what I mean; that there is nothing keeping you from being near the Word and hearing it, and tasting it in the Sacrament of the Altar and still you do not come.

It is not like the Lord Jesus gave his Christians His Words and Sacraments so that we might never hear them or take them.  He did say “this do often” in regards to the Sacrament of the Altar.  Jesus did spend a great deal of time reminding his disciples “if you abide in my Word you are truly my disciples,” (John 8.31) and again “As a branch cannot bear fruit unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me.” (John 15.4)  There is even a more unmistakable passage that we cannot get around as Christians and especially Lutherans John 6.56, “Whoever feeds on my flesh and drinks my blood abides in me, and I in him.”  Not one of these passages can be separated from the other.  It is not like one is sufficient above or over the others.  They were all told to the disciples throughout their journey with Jesus of Nazareth.  They were then preached by the Apostles to the Church.  That preaching remains to this day in certain places as Jesus still calls to his people, “Abide in my Words, eat my body and blood, and you will abide in me and you will bear fruit.”

The point of this article is to unsettle you.  To unsettle you if you still claim the name “Lutheran” or even “Christian” and yet rarely if ever practice what that name implies as Jesus himself spells out clearly.  This is also to unsettle any who think they can get around the words of Jesus himself when he says, “Whoever feeds on my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day. 55 For my flesh is true food, and my blood is true drink. 56 Whoever feeds on my flesh and drinks my blood abides in me, and I in him.”  Jesus is clear that if you are not eating his true flesh and blood you are not eating true food, nor will you abide in him.

