If you are holding off on marriage because of the economy in my opinion you are not ready for marriage.  I just watched a Early Show interview with a young man who really wanted to get married but the economy is keeping him and his fiance from doing so.  Hmmm.  If there ever was a statement of love to build upon it is , “I really want to marry you but this economy blah, blah, blah.”

Now, that is the world.  That is the way a young guy in the world thinks about marriage and the heaviest factor in marriage is money.  That makes sense to me.  What is harder for me to understand is why we seem to share much of the same kind of thinking.  By “we” I mean the church.  Sadly when I talk to many folks the overwhelming factor in many relationships is money, jobs, and the economy.

No, for us marriage is not a matter of money or economies.

